Social Networks

How long can a provider of a social network service store my data after I delete my account?

For legal and security reasons a social network service can store your data for some time - several months - after you deleted your account. Nevertherless they have to be transparent about this.

Do I need the consent of third parties if I want to place their photo or information on them on my profile?

Yes, and for this information on your profile you will be considered as a controller within the meaning of the Privacy Act. If you want to know more about the obligations of a controller, we recommend that you to consult the "Privacy Topics" section .